History of Art and Architecture


There are many ways for friends and alumni to support the Department of History of Art and Architecture.

The Department of the History of Art and Architecture is fortunate to have several donors and dedicated funds that support the work of its faculty and students.

To contribute to the department, please contact the chair, Prof. Itohan Osayimwese or Ms. Shelley Roth in Advancement.

Current Awards and Endowments

Many of the department's awards and prizes are named for students, faculty, and friends. Students receive these prizes for their academic work, and for research and travel. Current named commemorative awards include:

  • The Ann Belsky Moranis Memorial Prize was donated by Lee & Paul M. Belsky, M.D., class of 1979, and Miriam & Marvin Belsky, in loving memory of Ann Belsky Moranis, class of 1978.
  • The Kermit S. Champa Memorial Fund was established with gifts of alumni/ae, parents and friends in honor of Kermit Swiler Champa, the Andrea V. Rosenthal Professor of History of Art and Architecture, whose teaching and love for his subject inspired generations of students.
  • The Rebecca Molholt Vanel Flexible Fund was established by Pat Levine, Ph.D. and Louis D. Levine, Ph.D. in memory of their daughter Rebecca Molholt Vanel, who served in our department as Assistant Professor from 2008 to 2014. It commemorates her deep interest in travel and museum experience.

The department is grateful for gifts from parents, alumni, and friends to support lectures, exhibitions, and research and travel for visiting scholars, faculty, graduate and undergraduate students. These gifts allow the department to expand its scope and reach, providing broad access to historical research in art and architecture. Some of our gifts include:

  • Anonymous Family Fund for the History of Art and Architecture for support of visiting scholars and lectures
  • George Downing Fund for the Department Undergraduate Group
  • The Anita Glass Memorial Fund to support an annual lecture by a renowned scholar
  • The Hsiao Memorial Fund supports faculty research in Chinese Art and Asian Studies
  • The Kenneth List Fund for visiting lecturers 
  • The Joe & Emily Lowe Fund for lectures and events
  • The Clara Harkness Poland Memorial Fund for art history instruction and merit-based research aid

Undergraduate prizes and graduate students awards are given annually through the department. They include:

  • The Ann Belsky Moranis Memorial Prize is awarded to a concentrator who has excelled in work undertaken in the concentration, shown intellectual generosity and curiosity, and taken advantage of the strengths of the department in imaginative ways.
  • The Kermit S. Champa Memorial Fund commemorates Professor Champa, who taught in the department from 1969 to 2004, and is awarded to graduate students at an early stage in their studies to encourage first-hand experience of art and architecture to aid in identifying a meaningful dissertation topic.
  • The Rebecca Molholt Vanel Flexible Fund honors the memory of Professor Molholt Vanel, who taught in the department from 2008 to 2014. It commemorates her deep interest in travel and museum experience.
  • The Flexible Flyer Fellowship Award is an undergraduate award to fund a project proposed by a  junior or senior concentrator.